RSS

Still Going Strong

23 Mar

Just when I thought I couldn’t love my job more, I love my job more.

It is so cool to have my own hotel.  Like WAY cool.  I get to be a part of everything, and I’m soaking it all up.

Now that I’ve settled in, I feel like I can make some decisions that are going to better the hotel thereby making things better for my employees and our guests. Time to bring out the whip!  Ha!  Who am I kidding?  It’s more like a feather – as my hubby puts it.  But it fits me and is very productive.

I’m slowly getting used to living in the hotel.  I have a pretty good shopping and “cooking” routine down so I don’t have to eat out all the time.  Once a week or so, I hit the grocery store and load up on all my goodies.  I store most of it in the full size fridge/freezer located in the employee break room (labeled clearly with my name).  When I run out of stuff in the baby fridge in my room, I go “shopping” in the break room.  It works beautifully.  Except that I feel like every time I step out of my room, I should be dressed professionally, or at the very least…  dressed.  I miss my pony tail and comfy sweats and stained t-shirts.

BUT…. it’s only for a little while.  Five more weeks to be exact.  Sheesh!  Five weeks!  I gotta get house hunting!

I went home last weekend to see the fam.  I met Chip and Amp in St. Louis and had a great lunch with them before heading to the house.  I spent the rest of the weekend with my hubby, tearing myself away only long enough to eat lunch with Mario and visit with my mom.

I thought the first good-bye was hard, but this one was even tearier.  It’s hard leaving them behind.  Which makes it easier to immerse myself in my work.  I’ll stay immersed the next few weeks and hopefully get things the way I want them before my hubby moves here.  Then I’ll enjoy the hours and days a General Manager gets to enjoy.  I can’t remember the last time I’ve had so many weekends off.  And being home before 8 pm is pretty sweet too.  Heck, once things are set up the way I like them, I could be home by 6 pm.  Like, that’s almost like a real job!

Until then, I’ll keep enjoying this challenge, working long days, and slowly molding the hotel into my vision of what it should be.

….. and stopping here every once in a while to let ya’ll know I’m still kickin’.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2017 in Family, The Hotel

 

4 responses to “Still Going Strong

  1. Abby

    March 23, 2017 at 2:57 pm

    Glad you’re still kickin’ but not surprised! How nice that you got in some family time before returning to your throne ;). Happy house hunting!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 24, 2017 at 2:29 am

      That visit was actually three weeks ago! It took me that long to finish this post. Lol
      Right now, I’m getting ready to head that way again, and I cannot wait. Today’s our 26th wedding anniversary and we talked for, oh, 5 minutes? But time is flying and we’ll be together again in no time.

       
  2. Anita

    March 28, 2017 at 2:18 am

    Wow-I’ve missed a lot! Now I have to backtrack through your posts to see how you arrived here. Getting sleepy now, but will be sure to check back tomorrow. You sound so happy, so I’m happy for you. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 31, 2017 at 1:21 am

      I am very happy. I adamantly turned this position down when I was first asked to apply. But when it was brought up again a few weeks later, I gave it more thought. Now I’m thrilled to be here. Not the town necessarily, but the hotel. I love my new responsibilities, and am excited to see what this experience will bring for me down the road. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
