RSS

Daily Archives: May 7, 2017

Minimalistic Me

It’s amazing how minimally I can live.  I’ve been in my house for a week now and have only a chair and a mattress.

 

For dishes, I have 2 forks, a couple of spoons, and a plate.  I have my beloved cast iron skillet, a coffee maker, a toaster, and a blender.  And I am all set.

In fact, when I talked to my hubby yesterday, I told him not to bring anything down but himself.  I like living this way.  Maybe I’ll start to miss the TV, but I doubt it.  I’ve got Netflix.  Good enough for me.

It certainly helps that I live so close to everything – unlike before.  Before, I had to travel 40 minutes to get to any decent shopping or fun activities. Yesterday, I was in and out of my house all day long.  Went grocery shopping, came home and dropped it off.  Went to get lunch, came home and ate.  Went to the park, came home to get my laundry.  Went to the laundromat….

Ok, the minimalist in me is caving on that one.  I NEED a washer and dryer.  Now this particular laundromat wasn’t bad.  It was fairly clean, but it’s a laundromat.  And other people were there.  And I kept thinking “God please don’t drop any underwear on the floor….”

I tried to keep to myself, but a fellow laundromateer wouldn’t let me.  “You from St. Louis?” He asked me after seeing my Cardinals shirt.  “Yes, just moved here a few months ago,” I replied.

“What brings you to Joplin,” he questioned.  “My job,” I replied, not wanting to offer too much information.

“Oh, you work in a hospital or something?”

“No, a hotel….”

“You do about 25 rooms a day then?” He continued.

I looked at him questioningly, not quite sure what he meant.

He rephrased it.  “You clean, right?  How many?  About 25?”

I tried not to laugh.  After all, it’s a Saturday night, I’m in shorts, a tank and a ball cap,  and I’m in a laundromat.  Of course he would never have guessed I was the GM of the hotel.

I opened the dryer, not even caring anymore if my clothes were done.  I was just ready to get out of there.  The hotel has guest laundry machines. I’ll use those til my hubby brings ours.

And my cute little Cardinals shorts that I can’t find, and I’m thinking are still there….  sigh.  I guess they’re now the property of the laundromat.  I can’t bring myself to go back.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2017 in Blunders, Everyday Living, The Hotel