RSS

Daily Archives: July 4, 2017

Freedom

Happy Independence Day!

And Happy Birthday to my mom, who always claims the fireworks are in her honor.

It’s been a heck of a couple of weeks.  My front office manager went on vacation for 10 days, leaving me alone to run a hotel full of obnoxious baseball kids.  The parents were busy drinking, so I finally stepped in and began disciplining the unruly bast…., *deep breath*, the adventurous, unmonitored, teens, and was able to keep some semblance of peace through the weekends.

As soon as she returned, I fled the hotel and didn’t look back. I was ready for a much needed break.

Hubby and I took great advantage of my time off, and the beautiful weather, and the wonderful outdoors that I never realized this area has.

We loaded the bikes up in his new car, and traveled just across the border into Arkansas.  The bike paths there are phenomenal.

At least 30 miles of paved bike trails lead from Bella Vista to Fayetteville, Arkansas.  While we didn’t ride it all, what we saw rivaled what I’ve always imagined Colorado’s bike baths are like.

We grabbed lunch at the Mello Mushroom in Rogers, AR, and then made our way back – stopping more often to enjoy the sites.

 

And if this weren’t enough, we rode down to the Grand Falls yesterday to take in the beautiful scenery.

While Joplin, at first glance, wasn’t quite where we were hoping to settle after St. Louis, we have been pleasantly surprised.  The area is definitely fulfilling my desire for physical outdoor activities, while still being close to shopping and restaurants galore.

Not to mention the hotel has had an extremely successul first half, and I’m getting all the credit.  I’m feeling like a pretty lucky girl these days.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2017 in Uncategorized