RSS

Going through the change

25 Feb

I don’t know how he did it.  Probably the constant nagging and bragging about Apple products mixed in with the total frustration of my Samsung laptop.  But I am now the proud owner of an iPad pro.  And I’m loving it.

I bought the keyboard attachment to help me keep the feel of a laptop, and I’ve had no regrets.  It’s just so intuitive and so easy to work with.  And I can’t believe I waited this long to make the change.

Chip will be taking over the Samsung.  Hopefully he’ll have a little more patience with it than I did.  He plans to restore it to factory mode, so I worked endlessly to transfer all my pictures to my iPad.  If you know of an easier way, don’t share it with me now.  The only way I could figure it out was to transfer each one individually, a very painstaking feat.

Doing so further proved to me that I work so much easier with the iPad.  I found myself touching the screen on the laptop and getting frustrated that it wasn’t reacting to my touch… Until I remembered I was supposed to use the mouse.  Once all my pics were transferred, I pulled them up on my iPad and was shocked.  They were all categorized by date, and labeled with the time and PLACE where I took them.  It’s a little freaky, in fact.  Any pics taken inside my house were labeled with my street address and city.  And graduation pics were labeled with the high school name and address.  Saved me a lot of time, but I was freaked out.

Anyway, it’s been a good move and I would strongly recommend it.

image

And as promised,  I have some pics from a few puzzles that I’ve finished this winter.  Working on these while sipping on a glass of Brandy to keep my insides warm has been a great way  to get me through the long winter days I have off from work.  Very therapeutic.

 

This was a Christmas gift from Mario.  She’s so good about finding gifts that are spot on but still within her high school budget.  Love it!

image

 

This kitty puzzle was one of my favorites.

image

The Jesus puzzle came to me as a joke.  Hubby had gone Christmas shopping in our basement, which was funny in itself (and proof we are still storing way too much stuff) and came across this Jesus puzzle – likely handed down to us by one of our parents or grandparents.  He didn’t think I’d really put it together.  It was probably the most challenging puzzle so far, so I really enjoyed it.

image

So hard to be aggravated with Gracie when she picks on Tiger or wakes us up early with her crying.  Look at her.  She enjoys my puzzles as much as I do.  This one is a pic of the United States.  A 2000 piece puzzle.  My biggest one yet and will likely get me through the rest of winter.

image

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Going through the change

  1. Abby

    February 26, 2016 at 2:56 am

    Congratulations on your new iPad! I have a Nexus tablet (Android), it’s so handy – literally. Our IT department, Chaco, isn’t a fan of Apple products so we’re sort of “not allowed” to have any… But I’m glad you’re liking yours!

    And look at all those puzzles! Jigsaw puzzles are strangely addictive and therapeutic. I love the Jesus puzzle, “bought” while shopping in the basement – ha! And what is it with cats and boxes?

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2016 at 2:47 pm

      Amp is anti-apple, but the rest of us are a mix. I didn’t like the idea of spending so much on a mac book, and wasn’t ready to give up my laptop, but this thing has a screen almost the size of my laptop and a full keyboard that attaches so easily. And it was pretty cheap considering the cost of apple products. I’m happy with it. 🙂
      My hubby bought lots of Christmas gifts from our basement. It was pretty funny opening things we’d forgotten we had. And a nice reminder that we need to get rid of a ton more stuff.

       
  2. Tee

    February 27, 2016 at 2:16 pm

    I have to admit that the title of your post momentarily shocked me! I thought to myself, “She’s writing about menopause???” LOL!

    Congratulations on your new technology! I’m glad you’re so happy with how easy your iPad Pro is to use. We’re a mixed bag of technology in our house. I love my Asus laptop, but also love my iPhone. Two Christmases ago, I received an iPad mini. I use it often to watch videos, but not so much for things like blogging. I bought a bluetooth keyboard for it, but it’s just too small and my fingers can’t get used to the difference from a standard keyboard.

    Love your puzzles! But I have to agree that the Jesus puzzle is just too funny. I’m sure some well-meaning designer thought it was inspirational though! Did you experience anything divine while working on it? 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 27, 2016 at 2:51 pm

      No! We are NOT talking menopause. That’s for old people.
      My Asus laptop was my favorite ever. I was so disappointed with the Samsung – mainly because of Windows 8. And other things as well. But the iPad pro with the keyboard attached is similar to a laptop and so much easier and funner to use. 🙂
      We joked about divine experiences while I worked on the puzzle, but I can’t say that any actually happened. Other than I finished it. It was pretty challenging! The cuts of the pieces made it more so.

       
  3. lottajoy

    February 29, 2016 at 3:58 pm

    Forty years later I am still grossly ashamed of buying my dad a puzzle for his birthday, putting it together myself, then varnishing it. What an idiot I was. I realize he would have loved putting it together himself, but mom would have been bitching at him to put it up. So, maybe I saved him from a thousand arguments with mom.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 1, 2016 at 5:16 am

      You found me!
      My puzzle sits on my living room floor. We all have to step around it carefully. I only work on it during my off days, so it sits forever. I’m glad it doesn’t upset my husband.
      When I finish a puzzle, I take a pic and then immediately crumple it up, put it back in the box, and donate it to the hospital. If I don’t crumple it up immediately, I likely never would. It’s difficult to destruct something that took so long to put together.

       
  4. llcooljoe

    February 29, 2016 at 10:52 pm

    I’ve always been a mac user but I have to say I’m not that keen on my ipad. I use it on holiday and it’s useful but it seems limited to me. I do have a keyboard too, but keep touching the screen instead of the keyboard.:D

    Hey I didn’t realise you were into jigsaws too. Love the car one, but the Jesus one cracked me up, I’ve never seen anything like it. It must have been quite a challenge.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 1, 2016 at 5:23 am

      I never thought an IPad could take the place of my laptop, and have told my husband so for the last few years. Now here I am with one, and I’m happy as can be. For what I do, it hasn’t felt limiting. Some of it is I have the Pro. The screen is huge, so I feel like I’m looking at my laptop.
      I’m loving my new puzzle hobby! I only get to work on them a few times a week, but it’s so relaxing and keeps me from being antsy in the house on these cold winter days. I wasn’t thrilled about doing the Jesus puzzle. I started it mainly because I felt like my hubby was daring me to do it. Once I started it was fun! The pieces were so oddly shaped, and some were quite tiny. A place where you would think only one piece would fit, actually held two. I enjoyed the challenge.
      The one I’m working on now is 2000 pieces. My biggest one yet.

       
  5. Anita

    April 14, 2016 at 9:48 pm

    I feel so antique after reading your post and the comments. I’m still using my desktop PC. My PC laptop died a while back and I haven’t decided (or rather, forked up the bucks) on another computer that is mobile. Plus, my soon-to-be college freshman is in line before me. Big sister got an Apple, so she’s expecting the same. *sigh*

    Thanks for planting some seed anyway. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2016 at 5:18 am

      Oh yes, I’m used to my kids getting the bigger and better version of things. My cell phone is almost archaic because of it. But my college kid needed a laptop only to get through the rest of school, and he was just fine with my hand-me-down. So I splurged on this. And I still love it! Your turn is coming. 🙂

       
  6. stupidtom

    January 10, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    Hey! That’s how I write as well! Great minds…

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 12, 2017 at 1:51 am

      I STILL love it. Best purchase ever.

       

Leave a comment