RSS

Daily Archives: December 17, 2012

Quiet Interruption

Things have been pretty quiet at the hotel.  Kinda nice to kick back and enjoy the peace.  Tuesday night was proving to be another easy going night and I looked forward to settling in with my never-ending pantry tracking project.

I had just pulled out my binder when the flashing lights and the loud annoying voice warned us there may be an emergency.

ugh.

Why does it always seem to happen when I’m working…. and the managers have gone for the night.

What little guests we had slowly emerged from the stairwells.  A few called down to see if they really needed to leave the comfort of their room.  I advised them to do so until we’ve determined it’s not an emergency, and responded to their aggravation with, “I know this is a major inconvenience sir, and I apologize”.  (Sheesh.  Why ask if you don’t want to hear the answer?)

As soon as I got the fire department hooked up with the maintenance guy, I headed to the lobby to shmooz and comfort the guests. Luckily, it was only 8’pm and we only had one family with kids, so most people weren’t too put out.  In fact, they were back into their rooms by 8:30.  Job well done.

Soon after, I noticed a lady come running through the front door.  I saw our security guard point out where the bathrooms are, and the guest dashed to them. Security immediately got on the radio and called for a houseperson to clean up a spill near the door.

As she was making the call, she walked towards the desk and asked me for a towel.  The pieces slowly came together in my mind as I realized the poor girl really had to go…

My heart ached for her, thinking she must be so embarrassed.

Instead, she came to the desk to check in, proclaiming confidently, “That was quite an entrance, huh?”

I liked her immediately.

Later, she came down with her husband, who continually ribbed her about wetting her pants.  (He had rescued her in the ladies room with a new pair so she could exit with some sort of grace.)

To make her feel better, I shared my embarrassing traffic jam pee story.

She then shared her embarrassing stripping contest story where she got her panties stuck around her ankle.

I then shared….

nothing.

Probably best not to get into an embarrassing story battle…

It certainly was fun while it lasted though, and much better than my never-ending pantry project.   Which by the way, still hasn’t ended.

Maybe tomorrow…..

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in Blunders, The Hotel