RSS

Boys’ Day Out

28 Aug

While Mario had my complete attention on my first day off, the boys had my complete attention the second day.  And almost every day thereafter….

On Saturday, Chip and Amp packed up the van and their car with everything they’ll need for dorm life.  And although we had all gone shopping the week prior, we needed to stop by W@lmart on the way for the usual forgotten, or not thought about, items.

Fully prepared (ha!), we arrived on campus ready to unload.  The boys signed for the keys, took pics for their IDs, registered the car, and then the fun began.  I should note, that when they arrived, the organizer stated, “The brothers are here!”  Proof this school won’t be too overwhelming for them.  It’s a small tech school, where they should receive plenty of attention.  Like it or not.

IMG_1826

IMG_1828

Notice the strategically placed laundry basket in front of Amp.  Chip’s not quite as photophobic.

IMG_1829

IMG_1830

I’m sure he’s cussing me under his breath.

IMG_1834

When you can’t take close-up photos, you take many. That’ll teach ’em.

You can’t tell from the pics, but the boys look very much alike.  More than once, people asked if they were twins.  Amp didn’t try to hide his dismay.  “Great.  It’s starting already.”  Not sure what upsets him about it.  Chip’s a pretty good looking guy.  But he’s funny about some things.

The first thing we did was arrange the furniture in their tiny room so that they felt they had some privacy.  Then we left them to unpack while we attended the parents’ meeting.

There we were informed they were going to take our children and turn them into upstanding, responsible, contributing adults.  Hubby yelled out, “Good luck with that!”

But I have a good feeling they will.  And I have high hopes that this will be a school Amp can feel comfortable in.  He still has to wear a uniform, but he’s allowed to keep his beard, so long as he keeps it trimmed.

We left that afternoon with surprisingly heavy hearts.  We were so anxious for this day.  Happy to get Chip out of the basement and Amp out of his room.  And while I could go days not speaking to them when they were living at home,  now, I can’t go even a few minutes without thinking of them or wanting to call.  It’s been 5 days, and I already want to go visit them!

They’re only an hour away.  In fact, only minutes from my hotel.  I may just be there more often than they would like.

No.  I can’t.  I shouldn’t.

I won’t.

*sigh*

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2015 in Family, Parenting

 

10 responses to “Boys’ Day Out

  1. Rock Chef

    August 28, 2015 at 10:34 am

    It must be nice having them that close – our son’s Uni is at the other end of the country, casual visits are out of the question. But there is Skype…

    It might just be me, but I find that statement about transforming your children a little insulting? It is like they are assuming that you are all lousy parents and it is up to them to save your kids from a life of crime and welfare! Maybe I am reading too much into it?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 29, 2015 at 4:19 am

      Having them this close has its pros and cons. Dropping in for a quick visit is very easy, yes. But being this close allows them to ask us to do stuff – like bring them food. I’m trying to get them to fend for themselves. 🙂
      I didn’t take offense to her statement at all. Some of the reason we wanted them to live on campus, is so they can become responsible for themselves, and so they have to take care of things that normally my hubby or I would. She’s there to guide them, make sure they stay on track with their studies, and also to make sure they’re having fun. And when they leave, they’ll have the skills necessary to land a job. They’re success rate is well over 90 percent. So no, I didn’t take offense. I’m happy she’s there for them.

       
  2. Abby

    August 29, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    Hey, the start of a new chapter for everyone!
    Move-in day is always bittersweet, even though you’ve looked forward to it, it’s a big step. And yes, having them close by has its pros and cons. Heck, Chaco and Wolfgang are about an hour away – by bicycle!
    But we wanted them to live on campus too, and it’s been a good thing. Now they’ve transitioned to an off-campus apartment. The next step in independence?
    I laughed out loud at the hubby’s comment. This should be fun.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 1, 2015 at 1:38 am

      New chapters are exciting! And I want to know about every minute of it! I try not to text them every day, but I can’t help it. :/
      Does it get easier??

       
      • Abby

        September 2, 2015 at 3:54 am

        It gets easiER, but never easy.

         
  3. agg79

    September 1, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    Ah, sending the offspring off to college. I recall those days. A whole new adventure unfolds. It’s gonna seem weird not having them under foot, but you’ll make do. It’s probably been a while since you had some quiet time sans the kids. I know it will be hard but try and resist the temptation to drop by on them. At least they are not too far away. Close enough to come home to eat and bring their laundry.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 2, 2015 at 2:15 am

      It’s very hard not to just drop in on them. And I’m trying very hard not to text them everyday to see how their day was. If they text me first, that’s a different story.
      A few days after they moved in, Amp sent me a text: “So… how do you do laundry exactly.”
      I think they may actually be trying to do laundry themselves. :/

       
      • agg79

        September 2, 2015 at 2:49 am

        Hah! Reminds me when Junior moved up to Seattle for his intern job and found a place to stay with a bunch of college students. The first time he called he mentioned something about how dish washing liquid doesn’t work real well in the dish washer. Nothing like a little life experience to teach a lesson.

         
  4. territerri

    September 3, 2015 at 1:37 am

    I know exactly how you feel. We take them a little bit for granted when they’re living at home. Then as soon as they’re gone, we wish they were back.

    Normal. Totally normal. (At least it’s MY normal!)

    My daughter is about an 1 3/4 hours away. So we manage to have her home, or go there often enough.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 3, 2015 at 1:55 am

      Yeah. What’s up with that?
      I suppose I just want to know that they’re ok. And when they’re here, I know. When they’re there, I don’t know. It’s so hard. :/

       

Leave a comment