RSS

Slackers!

10 Jan

They’re screaming at me.  All of them.  They’re throwing fits.  They’re retaliating.  They’re making my life difficult.

But I’m not backing down.  They need to know I mean business.

I have 3 months to whip them back into shape.  It may seem enough time, but they’ve proven to be lazy little suckers.  I mean seriously.  I back off for 10 days and they’ve become couch potatoes.

My muscles are acting like spoiled children, and I am having it no more.

For years, they’ve been dedicated to keeping me in shape.  Sure, they complained a few times, but they were loyal and took me to places far beyond my expectations.  I watched admiringly as they grew stronger and more pronounced, and I treated them to relaxing massages and yummy protein and carbohydrate treats.

Then I was taken down, unsuspectingly, right at the peak of their performance.  I’d like to think they tried to stay strong for at least a few days. And I’d like to think they missed all the activity.  But after laying still for almost 10 days, with little movement, and no yummy treats, they began to slacken.

And now.

Sheesh.

It’s like pulling teeth to get them to go again.

I even started them easy.  Thirty minutes on the elliptical.   Followed by a day of rest, then a short 4.5 mile slower than normal run.

Another day on the elliptical.  Some planks, sit ups, arm work.  And you’d think I’d asked them to run a half marathon.  The amount of complaining was shocking.

I’m not backing down though.  Because I do plan to make them run a half marathon in three months.  And besides, I know what they are capable of, and I’m not lowering my expectations just because they took advantage of my forever-lasting illness.

So today, I pushed them a little farther and went 5.25 miles at a little speedier pace.  They’re balking, but I think they’re beginning to see that I’m serious.

I’m rewarding their work with plenty of protein and some time with my blue rolly thing.  I’ll let them rest the next couple of days while I work, but come Sunday, I’m going to expect at least a 7 miler out of them.

Should I warn them first?  Or is it best to spring it on them at the last minute?

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2013 in Health and Fitness, Humor, Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Slackers!

  1. Rock Chef

    January 10, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    Wharever you do they will moan. I hate getting back to cycling after something like that, but I guess the legs don’t feel like they have any choice.

    Good luck!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 10, 2013 at 7:33 pm

      My legs definitely don’t have a choice. Like it or not, they’re gonna go 13.1 miles. (Do I sound like I mean it?)

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    January 10, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    lol Can you have a talk with mind?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 10, 2013 at 8:45 pm

      Yeah – your muscles may even be a little less motivated than mine! 🙂 Just take it slow, and soon they’ll remember what they used to be able to do.

       
  3. Melissa Gastorf

    January 11, 2013 at 12:27 am

    It will come. Just keep at it. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2013 at 1:53 am

      I’ll try to be patient. That’s usually my problem. 😉

       
  4. Abby

    January 11, 2013 at 1:38 am

    Isn’t it nature’s little trick how 10 days of illness can take things back so much further than 10 days ago??
    They’ll come around. I know they will.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2013 at 1:55 am

      Yeah – what’s up with that? So many years of getting in shape and in 10 days it’s all gone.
      I guess I can’t be too hard on them though. They DID go 41/2 miles – they just complained after.

       
  5. territerri

    January 11, 2013 at 2:54 am

    It’s so frustrating how long it takes to get everything in shape and how quickly it can all fall apart. Keep working ’em though. You’ll get ’em back into shape pretty quickly, I suspect.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2013 at 3:08 am

      I’m a little stubborn and persistent about some things, so yes, I imagine they’ll give in to me soon, and I’ll be back to running long distances. I’m really just glad to be back running. I missed it!

       
  6. agg79

    January 11, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    I find the old I get, the hard it is to get started again. Train for weeks on end and everything is fine. Lay off for a week and I can barely run two miles without getting grief from my knees. I feel the the key to healthy living is to keep moving. Now that you have knocked back that flu, I am sure you will be back up to doing 10 miles in a few days. Keep pushing those cranky muscles. April is not that far away.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 11, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      I know, right? When I think about how fast your time has gone by, I realize that April will creep up on me pretty quickly.
      What’s sad is how quickly my muscles slackened up. Sadder yet, that it may be my age. Ugh. Hadn’t thought of that. Oh well. I’ll just be sure to keep moving – like you said.
      Good luck Sunday!!

       
  7. The Thin Lady Inside

    January 13, 2013 at 1:22 am

    I am sorry! It’s amazing how quickly “they forget” but they just need a little nudge as a reminder and they do remember! I know you’ll be ready for your running goals! I don’t think it’s your age… 10 days of not moving does affect anybody at any age! but You’ll get back! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 13, 2013 at 2:18 am

      I hope so. I planned a long run for tomorrow, but we’re expecting sleet and ice… not a good running mix. So one more day of rest. :/ (But I WILL get on the elliptical, which I’ve told you I LOVE…. 😉 )

       
  8. meleah rebeccah

    January 16, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    It always takes a while to get back into the groove, especially after being so sick!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 16, 2013 at 5:19 pm

      You would know, too. How have you been feeling lately?? Good to see you around again! 🙂

       

Leave a comment